Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I'm moving my post from the Tires sub-forum to see if I have better luck here. Maybe I'm asking too much too soon, being a newbie here:confused: Anyway, thank you for any input you might have.

I should have my 3.6R Limited OB by end of November and I’m looking to change the stock wheels/tires for a winter combo. I’ve looked at several treads/posts on this topic on the forum over the last week and I now have a pretty good idea of what I want, but I still have some questions and I'm looking for some advice to finalize my pick.

I’d like to use a 215/65 17 tire (Bridgestone WS70) for a bit narrower footprint and taller sidewall/tire than the stock size. Theoretically, this tire size is only 10 mm longer than that of the stock tire, or +5 mm all around, so I shouldn't have any problems with rubbing, odometer reading, etc.

The wheels is where I'm looking for advice/opinions. I think the ideal rim width for this tire size (and for winter use) should be 17 x 6.5, but I'm not sure. Ideally, I'm looking for alloy wheels in that size, light (I know this is relative; let’s say under 20lb), painted black and priced up to $150 ea. Below is what I’ve found so far.

Steel, 17 x 6.5 (black)
Pros: Best width for a 215 width tire? Really cheap @ $65 ea.
Cons: On the heavy side (TR estimation is 22-24 lbs). Not very good looking J

Kosei K4R, 17 x 7(light grey)
Pros: VERY light (14 lb). I love the look.
Cons: They don’t come in black, but I could paint them with Plastidip. Pricey @ $199 ea.

Motegi MR119, 17 x 7 (black)
Pros: Light (19.4lb). Decently priced @ $143 ea.
Cons: They have a LOT of spokes (15), close together. Difficult/laborious to clean. Not as good looking for me (I like better 6 to 10 spokes).

These are my questions:
- Do you know of any alloy wheel in 17 x 6.5?
- Any other mate black alloy wheel in 17 x 7 that I should look at? (in the $100-150 price range)