Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I created this profile so i could get some help. With taxes coming up, a friend has asked to me to help her with a motor swap. Seeing how i've done several in the past, and i get the scrap car from it, i agreed. But here's my problem, i've never worked on a Subaru before. She has a 2003 Outback Legacy. I've found a few of the older models in my area and I'm curious as to what motors will fit in this 2003. Will a '96 motor fit? I cannot look at the '03 just yet, as it's in a diff town than mine as is the '96. I'm awaiting another email from someone else who has a similar car but did not post the year of it. If someone could please tell me what motors will and will not fit, that would be a great help! I appreciate any and all comments. thank you!

·
Registered
2,818 Posts
A '96 Outback might have the SOHC EJ22 engine not the DOHC EJ25 in your friends car.
Someone at a higher pay level on the forum should confirm or deny this info.
I reckon any EJ25 is a direct swap. Differences will be in the PCM and engine control management.

·
Registered
OBW H6 VDC, Tribeca, XT6
12,385 Posts
1996 Outback has two different engines, this applies to 1996 only and Outbacks only, not other years or models:
96 automatic has a DOHC EJ25
96 manual has EJ22

Your friends 2003 has a SOHC EJ25

The 96, if it's an EJ22 (manual) doesn't work.

The 96, if it's an EJ25 (automatic) - doesn't work either. It is neither plug and play, nor are the intake manifolds interchangeable, nor can you easily swap the 2003 wiring harness onto the 96, the idle control is different and it's MAP, not MAF based. With some creativity I think it's doable...