Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

Newbie here. I just purchased an 06 obxt and I love it. What a great engine, but.... the downside is poor gas mileage. Even when I lay off the turbo and drive very conservatively I am pulling in around 18 mpg. I also noticed that when the gas mileage readout is in real time mode I get 5 mpg in 1st and 2nd gear and that's being very light on the throttle. Anybody else get the same or different results in 1st and 2nd gear?

The car was purchased used so I don't know what type of mods have been done. There is so much power, too much for the suspension I think, is there a way to tune the down to get better fuel economy? Blasphemy? I hope not.

Thanks a lot for your input.

JMart

·
Registered
Lawn ornament XT
14,366 Posts
The readout on the dash is not accurate. It's usually not too far off, but it isn't totally accurate.

The instant MPG will always lag current conditions.

XTs were built to burn gas. Every design comes with decisions and compromises, and with the Subaru GT/XT platform they decided that MPG would lose to everything else.

With very conservative driving I can get 26mpg out of mine. With normal driving it's usually down to 20ish. When I want to go fast it is worse. Much worse. :)

You could potentially modify & retune the car for better MPG, but it's a lot of work with a lot of weird consequences. It's always proven cheaper to trade in for a normally-aspirated version.

There is an off-the-shelf tune for max MPG available with the cobb accessport, but a few of my friends have tried it and said it made the car no fun and only recovered a few MPG.

Have a look at the 2005-2009 suspension thread, you'll probably get a few ideas for how to clean up that facet of the car.

·
Registered
22,836 Posts