Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2008 Outback 2.5
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been a driver of VWs for a long time and picked up a Subaru Outlook for my daughter as her first car. I hang out in the TDI Club forum regularly for my old Jetta and new Passat. I had a great experience learning the ropes on those cars and I hope this place is a similar experience for the Outback. It is a 2008 2.5... a few minor things, but mostly seems in good shape. The power steering is a bit off, so from what I have seen I will take a look at the o-ring and see if that helps. I am hoping for a reliable vehicle that doesn't need much beyond routine maintenance for the next 2-6 years to get her through college without needing me to get pick her up because her car is broken down.

Reactions: seancpdx

·
Registered
Onyx, 2008 LL Bean 3.0R and 2017 Honda Civic Hatchback Sport Touring
4,110 Posts
I can relate. I gave my daughter my 2000 Outback when I got my LL Bean 2008 model. She drives it to high school nearly 40 miles each way. It has 230,000 miles on it and after getting it road ready (it was inherited in terrible condition), I have only performed routine maintenance and replaced wear items like brakes and tires. Not sure where your daughter is going to school, but if there is snow, she is in the right vehicle.

·
On the Super Mod Squad
2002 3.0 VDC Wag + 2018 2.5 Leg Ltd
27,121 Posts
a bad alignment, or worn stuff in the suspension/ bushings can mask itself as a steering problem in a 2008,...if the steering seems off for no reason.

plenty of 2005-2009 mods here to put better stuff on the rear then the factory did if you want it to be more firmly planted too.

_______

and wow Peab,...that is one long high school commute. :frown2: is this for the gifted / talented ballerina?

_____