Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
338 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had a Lenovo Laptop and I tried the MS cheap upgrade on the OS to win 8.
What a mistake that was.
It turned it into a BSOD, locked up multiple reboot POS.
Worked with MS for 25 years and dealt with hardware and software issues and I finally had it.
Some have had no problems with win 8 but not for me. I'm glad I made the switch.

·
Registered
4,074 Posts
I'm a graphic designer and my specialty is Graphic User Interfaces (GUIs). I worked on Windows 7 and thought it was pretty cool. MS had me consult on Windows 8 and I thought the controls were kind of confusing and the graphics must not have been done yet. I thought, "OK, so these boxes represent where the actual images are going to be."

Wrong. The boxes are the GUI. Actually a new idea that will take some getting used to. The controls are not as intuitive as Windows 7 and will take time to get used to as well. We had a lot of griping when Windows 3.1 came out, but folks got used to, and eventually loved it. The other elephant in the room with Windows 8 is the fact that it is basically designed for a touch screen, like their new tablet. It looses a lot of its functionality, or at least ease of use, when not used on a tablet.

BTW, I have, use and love a Mac Pro, iPhone 4s, iPad 2, iPod, Macbook Air, and design on and for both the Mac and Windows platforms. But, I prefer the Mac over Windows as well.

·
Registered
14,354 Posts
The other elephant in the room with Windows 8 is the fact that it is basically designed for a touch screen, like their new tablet. It looses a lot of its functionality, or at least ease of use, when not used on a tablet.