Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After adding refrigerant last night my wife has called and said that the air is not cold at all and It really hot here. Is there anything really bad I could have messed up? Followed instructions and now it doesn't work. Is there a chance that liquid refrigeration got in the line and would that mess it up it's a 2011 outback 2.5

·
Registered
2018 Outback 3.6 R Touring
155 Posts
You need to charge gas (not liquid) into the low-side (suction line / cold line).

Theoretically, you should never have to recharge - I understand that a hose connection may have a minuscule leak over time.

Best to take it to a shop - find out if the A/C clutch is engaged, etc. This is my general knowledge - I have no Subaru A/C experience.

·
Premium Member
03 H6 OBW & 06 WRX Sportwagon
17,814 Posts
the system may very well be protecting itself if over or underfilled.

a/c DIY can go right, or very wrong.

but do proceed carefully, many people are sold compressors when all they need may be an o-ring or 2, a relay or fuse, etc.

·
Registered
2017 2.5i Premium Lapis Blue
4,345 Posts
Was it working at all before adding refrigerant? I'm guessing there must have been a reason to think it needed refrigerant. It could be there was something else wrong and now the system is way overfilled. The DIY kits often have that little gauge that gives you a vague idea of the system pressure but the only way to really see what is going on is to have both a high and low pressure gauge hooked up while running the AC.

It also could be as simple as the system is empty again today if there is enough of a leak.

·
Master Caster
2005 XT, Mildly Modified...2006 XT Limited, Highly Modifed
16,147 Posts
One of our tenured members @cardoc has always said the system needs the correct balance. I blew the evaporators on a(2) '90s Chevy's adding coolant before I knew better.