Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 116 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We are pretty set on buying an Outback but wanted to check out the RAV4, of course Toyota sales person wanted to talk down the Subaru. this is where my questions come from. He told me at 80k miles I would have to replace the timing chain, and then again at 160k. I can’t find any info searching google if this is true or not so asking you all of it is true or not?

·
Registered
5,320 Posts
Having owned an OB, I would take a new Rav4 over the OB but the Toyota sales person was incorrect about the timing chain replacement. Lots of other negatives to choose from but timing chains are not one of them.

·
Registered
20 Outback Premium
458 Posts
I'm relatively new to Subaru, but have "heard" they require more maintenance than other brands. I just checked their recommended maintenance through 137,500 miles, no mention of a timing chain, the only thing that seemed more frequent than other manufacturers was spark plugs every 60K miles.

·
Registered
2017 2.5i Premium Lapis Blue
3,702 Posts
The Rav 4 never stayed on my list very long because of the low towing capacity. But in reality I wouldn't want to tow the Outback's maximum towing capacity with the base engine. The Rav 4 always seemed to have a lot less interior space with the seats folded down which is how I use my Outback the majority of the time. I haven't seen a Rav 4 since it was updated so I'm not sure if the size has changed significantly. Either one is probably a good choice but at least with the previous generation of both it wasn't a tough choice for me to go with my Outback.

·
Registered
2,364 Posts
The choice between the two vehicles really comes down to how you will use it and what expectations you have.

The Subaru will be better in inclement weather, unpaved or deteriorated roads, carry more cargo, and probably have better structural integrity in an accident.