Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2005 OBW 2.5L, 1989 Subaru Justy, RIP Blu
7,355 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I always have a Volt Oil Press and Tranny Temp gauge on my roos, Blu2 no exception (Justy has Oil Press, Oil Temp and Volt). However Blu2 has been a pod challenge. I did not like anything available commercially due to the quality or the cost. With the side airbag A pillar was out. I have seen some dual gauge setups, but i like the nook with the door on the dash, and the ashtray can only hold two gauges not three.

I used to do fabrication for a living, so I did what I do best. I took a 2" inch gauge and went to Home Depot and Lowes, and had other online stores (mcMaster Carr and Graingers on my list). I went for inspiration.

Then i saw it, PCV pipe.

Easy to work with, forgiving and cheap. a 2" gauge fits snuggly into the 2" pipe.

I cut three 2" long pipes (my cuts were sloppy using a miter box). I used a dremel on a very low speed to clean the sloppy cuts. A dremel at the lowest speed stalls in the plastic which makes for great control.

I then glued them together using PVC glue. It was a decent bond, but I wanted to reinforce it. So i cut another peice 1" wide and cut that in half.

IMG]http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x234/nipper-dawg/IMAG0294.jpg[/IMG]

I glued the "feet" on and it made a stable platform.

I trimmed 4/10ths of an inch of them after it all dried

I stuck the longer tube in the center since my tools at hand did not allow me to clean up the slight diference.

here is the semi finished product

And back

All i have to do next is to modify the feet to match the curve of the dash so they sit at the right angle. After that I will paint it. I researched it on the web and PCV is paintable. I will probably attach them to the dash the same way I did in the Justy, with automotive grade velcro. This will allow me to get to my inspection stickers, clean the winsheild, and remove the gauges at will.