Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2013 Outback, 2.5i Limited w/ Moonroof
1,542 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Many of you have posted about using Plasti Dip on your cars. Honestly, I am totally new to using Plasti Dip on cars. Can any of you tell me, is Plasti Dip an alternative to a clear bra on the front bumper of a car?

Specifically, these are my questions.

Will if give a similar level of protections from bugs and chips?

Is there a clear coat option? I love the sparkle effect in my black paint, and don't want to cover that up with black Plasti Dip.

How long can I expect a Plasti Dip application to last?

I really appreciate any help that can be given. My dealer quoted $400 to apply a clear bra, to the bumper only. While I really want to protect the bumper, this seems excessive. If Plasti Dip is a good alternative, I want to try it.

·
Registered
2002 Outback Wagon 2.5L Auto Weather Package
1,972 Posts
There is a clear, but it is apparently a matte finish. There's also a glossifier you can apply on top, but not sure how that would look over a clear. I suppose it wouldn't cost too much to buy a can of each and test.

·
Registered
1,542 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
There is a clear, but it is apparently a matte finish. There's also a glossifier you can apply on top, but not sure how that would look over a clear. I suppose it wouldn't cost too much to buy a can of each and test.
According to a couple videos I found on Youtube, posted by DipYourCar.com, you can apply the Glossifier right on paint, just the same as the rest of the PlastiDip colors. I just don't know if this is the best option, and if it will really offer the protection, that a clear bra would. Is it just a matter of applying enough coats?

·
Registered
2008 Outback 2.5i AT
202 Posts