Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2011,premium,2.5
648 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
from amazon for 436$ it says its needs 14.4v to power it what kind of cables do i need for this(recommended brands) this is my first time hooking up a sound system to a car, and i bought the polk audio db651(60 rms) and db6501 (100 rms) a while back and they needs ampage big time it seems like, the amp it self is a 100rms x4 at 4ohm and 500rms x1 at 4ohms sub spot, i haven't bought the cables yet because i need to look into them more, i just been using my time to look into how amps work for he past 4 months now i got what i think is a good amp, now its the cables turn.... so anyone know of some good cables that can run from the head unit, up the head board(where i think i will install them) down where the last pillar goes(also where the antenna is, for the radio), and under the back trunk cover to install inside one of the dens, don't know how many feet or if this is a good install spot, but i do use back alot! and i will not like to take up that area and under the front seats seems to be a bad place for me as well, it is a really small amp so it should anywhere nicely just not thoughs areas lol:D

·
Registered
2011,premium,2.5
648 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
also i am using the stock head unit i will need to upgrade this...wont i?

·
Registered
2015 2.5i Limited Carbide Gray
832 Posts
You can use the OEM unit, with a Line Out Convertor. It will change the high level (speaker level) out of the radio and change it over to low level (RCA level) for the amp. Changing to an aftermarket radio makes this easier but it can be done. You will need two (one for fronts and one for rear) or a 4 channel LOC or you loose the ability to fade front to rear.