Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2004 Outback Wagon 2.5 Auto
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I took some photos. I was out at the store, and smelled gas. Looked under the hood, and saw the part showed in the photo was soaked! I don't know what that part is even called?

Or if its the hose. I smelled gas on the way home. I got home, and the part is all dry now?? I don't get it?

2004/2.5 outback

Passenger side top of the motor, under the intake is the part, if thats the intake. Im still learning this motor.

·
Master Caster
2005 XT, Mildly Modified...2006 XT Limited, Highly Modifed
16,144 Posts
It's a fuel pressure regulator.

I suspect it is leaking from a rubber line clamp on the side we can't see. Its is rare for the actual FPR device to actually leak...unless it has completely failed inside.

Possible this o-ring #4 is leaking...between the FRP and the fuel rail.

Attachments

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's a fuel pressure regulator.

I suspect it is leaking from a rubber line clamp on the side we can't see. Its is rare for the actual FPR device to actually leak...unless it has completely failed inside.

Possible this o-ring #4 is leaking...between the FRP and the fuel rail.
Okay I see the #4 in the photo. I drove 15 minutes home and it was dry and not damp. Kinda odd.
I tightened the clamps up anyhow. I drove it again and it’s bone dry now.
But it dried up by the time I got home before tightening the clamps.
I’ll keep an eye on it.

·
Master Caster
2005 XT, Mildly Modified...2006 XT Limited, Highly Modifed
16,144 Posts
i had that issue when it was below 0. replaced the small hoses and clamps and my leak was fixed
That was my 1st thought.

Those band clamps are installed at assembly. That fuel injection soft/rubber line gets very hard with age. They are a pita to get to sometimes...often tightening the clamps temporarily help. But replacing with proper high pressure fuel injection line is the way to go.

·
Registered