Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
2013 2.5i Premium 6mt, Twilight Blue
2,378 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My order is in for the Rally Innovations Light Bar and I'll be installing it over Thanksgiving with the intention of having lights to dress it up with at the same time. My problem is...which lights? I have no experience with auxiliary lights so your input and experience is appreciated.

Cliffs Notes of the information I'm looking for:

- What size lights work/look best on a Gen4 Outback?
- What brand/model lights offer decent light output, a reasonable price and moderate quality?
- From personal experience, are there any brands/models you would recommend or avoid?

Here's my breakdown of background information and research thus far:

Type of Usage
I will be using these on back roads, country roads, and to supplement high beams. I will be using them infrequently, probably a couple times a week during late night driving, and potentially a few winter weekend trips into the mountains. When I do use these lights, it will likely be quick cycling between on/off as you would use your high beams on backroads. It's New Jersey, there are no empty roads.

Type of Lamps
LED: Love the output but not the price. Considering the minimal use, I can't really justify going with LED.
Xenon: With quick on/off use, xenon doesn't seem like a good option either because they would prematurely wear out
Halogen: all signs point towards halogen lamps: cost efficient, O.K. light output and widely available

Type of Beam Pattern
Driving: seems like the best all around option. Potentially four of these mounted on the light bar?
Fog: might be beneficial to have a wider, lower beam as well. Potentially two of these mounted low, and two driving lights on top of the light bar?
Pencil: Benefit is...reach out much further down the road? Would it be better with two fogs+two pencil, or two fogs+two driving? Pencil beam not as widely available