Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am an entry level mechanic and trying to help a friend with their Subaru. So they had cylinder misfires on 2, 4, and 6. I just replaced their crankshaft pulley because of a wobble and the pulley was staring to dig into the timing cover (Saw metal flakes coming from pulley when I gassed it).I was hoping that the balancer may be causing the issue but it was bad anyway so I started with replacing it. Also whenever I snap the throttle shut the car bogs down and in most cases dies. Anytime the foot comes off the gas pedal. Also when I snapped the throttle shut it sounded like a poping noise coming from the air filter... almost like when the valves are bent or otherwise not shutting all the way on the compression stroke causing a little positive pressure. I was thinking maybe timing chain jumped a tooth but then why is it not effecting the other side as well? Was also thinking VVT but forgot to look if this engine was equipped with VVT or not. Any ideas on a path for diagnosis?

·
On the Super Mod Squad
02 Pair: 3.0 VDC Wag & 2.5 Limited Sedan
26,200 Posts
these early 212hp series of the EZ30D has some rudimentary "variable intake geometry" to adjust things based on what gas you are putting in.

but not smart stuff like the later EZ30 245hp spec 2005-2009 (on here typically called EZ30R).

·
Registered
03 H6 OBW & 06 WRX Sportwagon
17,621 Posts
miles?

I THINK some early H6s had problems with chain guides. I read also of one engine that slipped a tooth on a cam gear so, that could explain the bank-specific failure.

But first, I encourage you to triple check and clean/refresh all ground connections. There are several at the pitch stop mount on the firewall, and on 'bosses' on the intake mani and, well, everywhere you can find them. wire-brush the body, each side of the ring lugs and even the screw.

others here have more experience, maybe they can guide you.

·
Registered