Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Our 4th of July contest is live! Enter HERE for your chance to win a $400 Walmart gift card.
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Outback of the Month Challenge!

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2008 L.L. Bean edition, 2.5 liter
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New to the forum….OK, first I am no mechanic. I recently bought a 2008 Outback with 170,000 miles. I was driving the car and it suddenly lurched, then lost power and began idling very rough. The ABS and another idiot light began blinking. A mechanic did a leak-down test and found the exhaust valve and guide in the #4 cylinder had broken and messed up the head, so he sent it out to be machined and repaired it. The head gasket had to be replaced also. The car ran fine for two weeks, then yesterday, I was driving about 70 mph when the car lurched, but didn't lose power. The same idiot lights came on but didn't blink and when I recranked it, they didn't come back on. The car ran fine with no over heating or loss of coolant. When I had the head work done, I replaced the radiator because it had a leak and I also replaced the front brakes. Would that have anything to do with the lurch and the idiot lights?

·
On the Super Mod Squad
2002 3.0 VDC Wag + 2018 2.5 Leg Ltd
26,843 Posts
what lights? (there are so many.

VDC off light will light if any of the other lights come on, (fix the other problems, and that goes out).

what was flashing? -=cruise light? check engine light (flashing check engine is a misfire).

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·