Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Before I go looking at mountain bikes and worrying whether I need to spend another $800-$1k on a trailer hitch and bike rack, does anyone have photos of their bike in the back of their Outback? Can you do it with just the front wheel off?
Thanks.

·
Registered
2021 Outback Touring XT
593 Posts
I am sure someone will post a pic but several thoughts…

1. It should fit as I have done it in a 2014 Crosstrek before. Noting that if you have an XL frame or 29er that may change the fit a little. I could fit a mens 26” large frame and a womens small 27.5 in the Crosstrek with the rear seats down.

2. If it is just one bike, roof mounts work great and are not usually as expensive as the hitch racks.

3. If you want a mountain bike for the cargo area (rear seats up) check out Montague folding bikes. They are trail worthy mountain bikes that fold. I have been riding them since 2006 and they have never let me down. I am admittedly not the most intense rider ever, but have done reasonably rough trails without issue (Wapehani bike park in Bloomington, IN as a reference point). Certainly not a bike I would ride for downhill or more extreme riding (not really setup right for it), but for most mountain bikers it should be able to do the job.

·
Registered
2013 3.6R LTD, 2022 Onyx Edition
55 Posts
I also do not have photos, but absolutely you can throw a bike in the cargo area of an Outback. I have seen plenty, some with front wheel off, some with the whole bike intact, so I guess it just depends on the bike & whether or not you need any of the rear seats up at the same time.

·
Registered
229 Posts
If you don't mind folding the rear seats down, the whole bike can get tossed in the back of the Outback, wheels-on. I've done it many times.

I still prefer an external rack, because it's much easier and much cleaner, and it leaves space for people/friends/bags.