1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
05 OBXT LTD 5MT
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
MT vs. AT

Hi everyone. Newbie here.

I've decided to buy a new XT Ltd, and I'm looking for some opinions.

I've driven manual transmissions for thirty-something years, and was considering buying an AT this time. Ya just get tired of shifting after a while, right? Realizing that a lot of it is personal preference, I just wondered about the advantages/disadvantages with this model. Also, if I go MT, is the short-throw option worth while?

I've enjoyed reading the many posts on this board, and they've been very informative. Thanks in advance for your input.

·
Registered
2004 Baja Turbo
106 Posts
Hey Charles,
I'm the same way,i've been driving a stick all my life.I did'nt trust an automatic,but that bumper to bumper traffic is killer on the left leg.So i traded in my stick for an auto,i figured if i had any tranny problems down the road that it would be covered under warranty.If it makes it through 3/36 then you still have powertrain warranty that will cover the tranny.If you keep your tranny serviced it should go the distance,i plan on servicing mine every 15,000 miles.There's alot of people that neglect there tranny service,i've serviced some that when draining the fluid it looked like what used motor oil looks like at an oil change.After the service the fluid does'nt look like it's been changed,by servicing every 15,000 miles you should be able to keep the fluid clean as well as the inside of the tranny.

·
Registered
10 Posts