Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1997 impreza outback sport, 2.2
8 Posts
Good afternoon everyone. My name is Mike. I purchased a 1997 IMPREZA outback SPORT about a year ago that I am experiencing some issues with. My background is in aircraft maintenance. I feel pretty comfortable performing mechanical work on my vehicles but I am definitely lacking in some know how.

·
On the Super Mod Squad
2002 3.0 VDC Wag + 2018 2.5 Leg Ltd
27,163 Posts
added impreza outback sport, as that denotes it has the great little 2.2 :smile2:

vs. the typical 97 legacy outback that is on this board with the turd of all turds EJ25D in it.:crying:

so what's up with your car?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm lost/1997 outback issues

Sorry if this gets lengthy, just want to be detailed.

I have searched quite a bit in forums but I am not sure what part to change next without pulling quite a bit out of my wallet. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I have a 1997 Outback 2.2 automatic. I purchased the car in Jan of 2017. The car started having issues fairly early. Here's pretty much what happened to it and the parts I have changed.

I was going down the free way at about 65 mph. Suddenly my rpm would drop dramatically but only for a sec and immediately resume back to normal and then repeat about 5-6 times. This happened about three or four times. The following day the car would at times completely not want to start at all and others it would start but before I could even pull out of the drive way the car would die after putting it in drive or reverse and taking my foot off the break. I never had a check engine light or anything indicated to me what the problem may be. The car eventually got to the point that every time the car was started the car would idle at 2500+ rpms.

Heres a list of what I ended up changing:
Fuel pump
spark plugs, wires, and coils
throttle position sensor