Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'd like to share my story with you fellow lovers of these fine automobiles. This is going to be a long one but hopefully it will be entertaining. Last month I got the itch for something to tinker with. It's been a while since I'd had any kind of automotive project and I just kinda missed working on cars. So I hit craigslist in search of some sub $1000 shitbox I could nurse back to health (and hopefully make into my new daily driver) when I came across a 2005 Legacy wagon (limited!) with 114k miles that "just needs a timing belt". Perfect! About 10 years ago I was a Subaru tech, and while I hadn't touched once since at least I'm at least going in with somewhat of a clue. I also remember being particularly fond of this generation.

I went to see the car, which was only about 8 miles away from my house. The PO was an 18 y/o kid. It was his first car, and one morning it wouldn't start. A mechanic had diagnosed it as a bad timing belt, and that was that. The car itself looked pretty clean aside from some evidence of a minor front-end collision at some point that was repaired "good enough", and some peeling paint on the rear bumper. The interior was spotless though, and he had just put on 4 new tires, pads/rotors, and rear struts before it blew up. He accepted an $800 offer and about an hour later I had a tow truck dump this thing in my driveway.

Yay so exciting! So the next day I got a better look at it. Not so bad looking for an '05 from NYC.

Some battle scars but otherwise still pretty presentable. I quickly got to tearing down the motor, and was pleased to see that the engine was not only spotlessly clean (strangely so) but that only 4 intake valves were bent due to the timing belt tensioner bolt shearing off (somebody goofed). This was going to be an easy fix! Hahahahahaha!!... Or so I thought. Here's where it gets interesting.