Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of December's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I just bought my 1st Subaru, 1999 Legacy Outback Wagon.
I'm a shadetree mechanic, had all kinds of cars over the last 40 years, mostly Mopars and Toyotas.
I like to buy POS's and fix them up for daily transportation. Therefore, I'm always looking for hacks and parts on the cheap.
Thanks in advance for any and all help!
pa4445.

Master Caster
馃枻馃挃馃挋 3 Beautiful OBXTs

Registered
2005 Outback R LL Bean 3.0 H6 w/ 5 speed sport shift
Brother, you've found a home here!

A lot of us are shadetree types with 30+ years of mechanic experience. That's not a bad thing, we just have to think out of the box sometimes! No gantry hoist, OK, but do we have a tree?

There's more info and Subaru Gurus on here than you could wish for!

Welcome!

On the Super Mod Squad
2002 3.0 VDC Wag + 2018 2.5 Leg Ltd

Registered
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Just to let you guys know, the 1999 Legacy Outback Wagon I bought has worked out pretty good so far. I got it for my son since he needed AWD where he is.
We had to fix a bunch of stuff:
New rear struts.
New back hatch handle
Brake pedal was spongy - bleeding fixed that.
Oil Change.
New drive belts
New plug wires and coil.
New/used tires Firestone winterforce 205/75-15 (1 size bigger)
Replaced fog lamps with hella driving lamps.

I drove it through 1 heavy snow before I put new tires on, and I have to say I was very impressed.

Overall, I think this is a great car. Fairly easy to work on, and I downloaded a service manual that is one of the best I've seen. I will definatley be getting another Subaru in the future.

On the Super Mod Squad
Just to let you guys know, the 1999 Legacy Outback Wagon I bought has worked out pretty good so far. I got it for my son since he needed AWD where he is.
moving to gen1 95-99 section and re-naming.

______