Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I posted this in the Gen 2 forum and was told to also post it here. Post below:

This is my first post and I'm not very experienced working on cars, and I'm at my wit's end trying to track down this problem. This requires a short story:

I have a 2000 OBW 2.5 MT with 166k miles on it. I replaced the engine for other reasons, and now I'm starting to regret it. Ever since the engine swap, it's been throwing a P0172 Bank 1 System Rich - no other codes ever - and has been incredibly sluggish (read: flooring it in 4th trying to accelerate to highway speeds and barely speeding up enough to make the on-ramp). The engine was a JDM model but all parts used were from the original engine (manifold, sensors, injectors, etc), throttle body was cleaned, and there were no vacuum leaks according to the mechanic. Throttle body was cleaned during swap. The CEL came on after the swap, and the loss of power was immediately noticeable.

Mechanic said the coil and wires were corroded, so I replaced them along with the spark plugs. the PCV valve was gummed up as well so I replaced that too. Reset the CEL, drove it ~15 miles, light comes back on and the engine is still sluggish. Mechanic then says the front O2 sensor is fluctuating wildly, and needs to be replaced. I said go ahead and replace it. No change, CEL back on. He re-replaces the sensor under warranty on the off chance the replacement was bad. No change, CEL back on. He said to order a MAP sensor, which I did and am waiting for it to arrive. In the meantime, I got an OBDII cable and OBDwiz and took a look at some parameters. I picked a handful that I thought would be helpful but if you have any more suggestions, I can take more readings. The trace is a ~5 min capture of idling where I revved to 2k at the 175 sec mark until the 250 sec mark. The rear O2 sensor (B1S2) reading looked strange to me, but I don't know exactly what to make of it.