Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Subaru Outback 2.5i EJ253 almost stock w Rallitek overload coils in rear
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

I'm new to Nashville, TN, and I need head gaskets & cam seals this year on my 2006 Outback 2.5i. Can anyone recommend someone?

I had a "cautionary" experience at the Wyatt Johnson dealership in Clarkesville, and besides that I'd normally go to a private expert rather than a dealership. I know someone in Columbus, OH, but since I moved that doesn't help me much.

I searched all the Subaru forums online and got a couple names off past posts, but they were "I heard of someone who might be ok" instead of any real experience. I'd try this job myself but I don't have the tools, facility, or time.

Any personal recommendations would be appropriated! :) :)

~Nicole

·
I simply cannot abide useless people.
2006 2.5i and 2002 3.0 wagons.
12,301 Posts
Thread moved to correct forum.

Nashville is about 5 hours away from me, so I'm sadly no help here.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Thank you guys for replying!
/bump/
There is a subaru shop out in Smyrna if you search craigslist. I can pm details. It's not ASME certified. They fixed my headgaskets and did a great job on a clutch for a 2007. Would definitely recommend for clutch jobs. Sadly the bottom end of my engine blew a week later @ 170k miles. Engine never overheated under my watch. But I cannot guarantee the previous owner did not overheat the engine. There were some white specs on the top sound deadening material of the front hoot plastic / fiber when you look closely. This lends me to believe there was a coolant burn off at some point and possible over heating before I bought the car or maybe just a pinhole leak in a radiator hose or top radiator plastic. Impossible to know for sure. Either way it was unfortunate to pay then have a dead engine, but was probably just coincidence on an engine well past it's prime.