Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello - I have an 2019 Outback 2.5L. We are considering doing a road trip and renting a camper trailer to hitch. I am a novice when it comes to hitching and specs, and I'm confused what the limitations are for an Outback.

The official specs says towing limit is 2700 Lbs. I'm trying to understand what sorts of trailers I can hitch that meets the specs. I found this blog post, that lists multiple options, but when I look at the weights on various sites, I'm seeing they're mostly 3,000+ and that's dry. I'm also unfamiliar with the how to choose a hitch that means the tongue weight.

Ideally we'd like a small camper that does have a toilet and basic kitchen. Does anyone have any advice? We're looking at using RV Share - we're in Arizona and there's a lot of options for us. Thank you.

·
Registered
193 Posts
Since nobody else has chimed in I'll try to help, since I'm in the same boat as you and have been looking into a camper, but full disclosure I have not towed one with my Outback yet. I think you're pretty much limited to small popup trailers. The Outback does not have a lot of capability when it comes to towing.

As far as hitches, I have an Ecohitch and really like it. I think the tongue rating is probably not going to make a difference since you're limited by car. for example, my ecohitch has a tongue rating of around 500 pounds, but the Outback itself has a tongue rating of 200 pounds. You have to abide by the lowest number. Most hitches are going to be rated at more than 200 pounds so you should be good with basically any of them, realizing that you shouldn't exceed the 200 pound rating of the car.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks - that's where my suspicion led me but had to confirm, since I saw photos of cabin style campers being recommended. What's the price range estimate for getting a hitch installer?

·
Registered
2020 Outback Premium
31 Posts