Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!! I am fairly new to this sight and am planning on getting an OB soon. Glad to have everyone's advice and insight on this post.

I have been looking around for quite some time and I think I finally found a winner but I need some ideas on what to look for when I go to look at this one. I know the general manager of this dealership so I am confident in a possible deal that I could get plus he is checking in on this vehicle tomorrow to let me know if it's still on the lot. I was going to call a local Subaru dealer to see if I can find out any history on it before buying as well. Other than the (what seems like) typical gasket/ oil leak issue, anything to look for specifically? I am pretty accustomed to buying used and the "typical" things to look for but not sure about a Subaru as this is my first one. I am also curious about what you think about the mileage and price. Seem fair? I looked it up on NADA and it's on the high end of the retail price for my area. Seems very clean from the pics they posted and I will verify that if/ when I see it if it's still there. Thanks in advance for your help and I know there are already a ton of these "help" posts which I have read a ton of them but I would still like some input. Thanks in advance!!

2001 Subaru Outback Limited VDC w/3.0L-H6 Engine

- Brad

·
Registered
246 Posts
Beat it. Seriously, give it some good hard accelerations and feel for any "skips" or pauses in acceleration. Go backwards with the car and listen for any strange noises, and find a parking lot, crank the wheel all the way and turn. Do it for both left and right. Then of course piston slap, valve tick etc.

It's ubsurd what they are getting for pricing south of Vermont. That's a $4,000 car in Vermont.

·
Registered
672 Posts
Hi Brad.