Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
2018 Subaru Outback 3.6R, 2013 Porsche Boxster S
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just purchased a new 2018 Outback 3.6R! Happy to share my joy as well as some thoughts. I’ve been dropping by here for a couple years while owning a few other Subaru cars, always enjoy hearing from other owners. Here we go, my longest post so far.

Other cars I considered: Porsche Macan, Mercedes Benz GLC300, Audi Allroad. It came down to value, nothing else could match the OB. This was my first new car purchase, as most of my previous cars were purchased ‘slightly’ used. I debated between 2.5i and 3.6R, test drove both twice, and ultimately felt the 3.6R was a more exciting drive and a more meaningful upgrade from my 2010 OB 2.5i. Loyalty coupon sweetened the deal. I price shopped a lot of dealers, combined with timing, was able to get what some other dealers may consider a “steal”. Went back and forth between two colors Twilight Blue and Ice Silver, somehow fell back on the silver. May have picked up Wilderness Green Metallic, but didn’t see many in that color.

In two days so far, have added 250 miles ? Initial thoughts:

Compared to Gen 4: build quality is higher in Gen 5, still maintains a similar “car” feel, however the ride is more firm and refined. The 3.6R engine is butter smooth and quiet, noticeably over the first gen 2.5i CVT (which was a $1,000 option back in 2010). Yes, I can feel the added front weight of the bigger engine. Curiously, there are a couple things I miss from the 4th gen: double compartment center storage (two hatches), and trunk storage compartment. The leather seats are nice, however, takes some adjusting to get right, whereas the 4th gen cloth seats had minimal adjustment and met my needs. Also, the 4th gen cloth seats have warmer seat heaters. Having said this, big jump in overall interior quality between the generations.