Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2007 outback 2.5 basic automatic
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I am looking into buying an 08 2.5XT outback with 130k miles on it.

Anything I should look for when I go on a test drive? Like where to spot oil leaks or any engine noise or anything else?

Also are these motors any good? I am new to the Outback scene

Thanks Again

Lee

·
I simply cannot abide useless people.
2006 2.5i and 2002 3.0 wagons.
12,306 Posts

·
Registered
2009 OB 2.5i 4EAT
298 Posts
Just from my experience here, the consensus seems to be if you own an OBXT, you're going to want to be very handy with the wrench or be willing to pay for the mechanic bills. It seems to me that owning an OBXT means you're also going to own an engine hoist.

·
Registered
2007 outback 2.5 basic automatic
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Just from my experience here, the consensus seems to be if you own an OBXT, you're going to want to be very handy with the wrench or be willing to pay for the mechanic bills. It seems to me that owning an OBXT means you're also going to own an engine hoist.

Should I not get an XT model just a regular outback?

·
Registered
2009 OB 2.5i 4EAT
298 Posts

·
Registered
2005 OBXT Limited, VF37, STI intake, 5MT
1,553 Posts
If you aren't a die-hard turbo person or are NOT capable of replacing your own engine, I'd skip the XT. The H6 models offer similar performance (albeit in automatic only), but handle neglect better.

If you're looking for a high-spec Outback, the Limited trim is available with the NA 2.5 and you get all the cool features of the XT without the turbo. The L.L. Bean edition is the Limited's H6 version (for the early generation).

·
Master Caster
2005 XT, Mildly Modified...2006 XT Limited, Highly Modifed
16,119 Posts
I drank the kool-aide twice (ain't dead yet)

Most folks think this is the only end state for an OBXT...

"We lost nine today"

I beg to differ. I like them so much. I bought (2).