Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2010 Nissan Xterra Off Road 6-Speed
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All,

I have been researching the new 2013 Outback for a few months, this site has been most helpful.

After a history of keeping vehicles for far too short a time, I am looking to settle down with a vehicle. I believe the Outback will fit that setup. I am not new to Subaru, I owned a 2009 WRX hatch with Cobb stage I. I absolutely loved that car (save for the seats and the trouble it got me into :) ) and I have been kicking myself for getting rid of it as it would have been paid off next year.

I just sold my 2012 Acura RDX, which was a great car but too expensive to leave in the garage. (My wife works down the street from me, so we carpool often.

That leaves our 2010 Xterra Off-Road 6-Speed, which is a most fantastic truck, and will be with us for the long haul.

This weekend, we drove a 2013 base 6-speed Outback.

Wow... this is a fantastic vehicle. I walked away impressed to say the least. Some preconceptions I had about this vehicle were smashed.

Too little power: Not true... sure you have to wind it a bit, but it felt great and it was plenty for everyday driving.

6-Speed had long throws: Not true, this is one of the most slick shifting manuals I have had the pleasure of driving. Makes the 5-speed unit in my WRX seem like a tractor.

It's ugly: Not true, although that is subjective... I think it is a good looking ride.

It rode very nicely, cornered well, the seats were fantastic and the interior was much more upscale feeling than I expected.

If we were to order one: It would be the 6-speed Premium w/ all weather package. Although the brochure says you can get the H/K sound system in the premium, you can't add that while building one online.

Well, now comes the wait... until after taxes until we can jump on the Outback. I promised myself I would drive more vehicles to compare, but now I just don't want to.