Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy all! While I do not yet have own a Subaru, I've been a fan for a long time. Will be purchasing a new vehicle next spring, and I'm finding that these forums are a good place to do research. I get more of a feel for how people really like or dislike certain aspects of the vehicles, and get away from the marketing hype.

I've been driving a mini-van of one brand or another for too many years, and just recently purchased a Honda Civic. While I like the vehicle, it is not a practical car for us at this time. So we are looking at cross-overs and small SUVs. Subies are at the top of my list (Outback and Forester), followed by an Equinox and a Jeep Patriot. Nothing in the Ford line-up interests me. Kia Sportage and Sorento, Hyundai Santa Fe, and Mitsubishi Outlander also interest me. I'll have fun test driving them all, but I really like the draw of Subaru's AWD.

So, I'll be doing a lot of reading, and asking some questions here and there.

One item that concerns me a bit, and I read this on the Forester forums . . . has to do with the "fact" that if your tires are worn and you lose one, you really should replace all four. Gotta give that some serious thought, as I HATE having to buy tires. Oh well.

I look forward to "meeting" many of you around the forum!

·
Meh.
I has wagons.
12,372 Posts
Howdy.

And regarding the tires thing: welcome to having AWD, it is how most of them are now. However, over the lifetime of the vehicle, it is a minor cost if it occurs.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·