Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I am new to the subaru. I don't own a Outback yet but...... My CRV is all but sold and I am going to trade in my truck. I want a 3.6 because the 2.4 in the crv is anemic. Is there anything I should look out for or avoid when purchasing. I will be using the Costco purchasing program. Hopefully I will be getting a good deal.

Thanks
Patrick

·
Registered
30 Posts
I just did the same

I recently sold my pick up truck to purchase a 3.6r outback and couldn't be happier. If I was going to be driving longer distances (its only 18miles to work) I may have thought about a 2.5i. I like the 3.6r and while I am only on my second tank of gas, I am averaging 21.5 & 22.5 for both of those tanks which is a lot better than my truck was giving me.

I found the 3.6r much peppier in merging and lane changing than the 2.5i. I also believe that I would be pushing the 2.5i harder which would result in the lower spectrum of their gas mileage range. I see a few people getting 24-25mpg with the 2.5i. If i can stay at 22ish it makes the 3.6r purchase much more appealing for me.

Since quotes are free make sure you ask a few dealers first before you just go with the costco program. I drove over 60 miles away to get the vehicle i wanted for the price I was happy with.

Good luck with your purchase ...

·
Registered
2010 OB 3.6R limited
3,289 Posts
I am averaging 21.5 & 22.5 for both of those tanks which is a lot better than my truck was giving me.

I found the 3.6r much peppier in merging and lane changing than the 2.5i. I also believe that I would be pushing the 2.5i harder which would result in the lower spectrum of their gas mileage range. I see a few people getting 24-25mpg with the 2.5i. If i can stay at 22ish it makes the 3.6r purchase much more appealing for me.

I average over 24 mpg over 50K+ miles in my 3.6R.. Higher in the summer , lower in the winter....FWIW!

·
Registered