Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Outback 2.5i - AT / 1997 Legacy Brighton 2.2 Wagon -MT
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

This seemed like a good place to get a post in so I can get to my 10 posts needed to follow links.

I am new to Outbacks but have owned a '97 legacy Brighton wagon for quite some time (EJ22/5MT) and have done a lot of work on it myself.

I just bought a new to me 2005 outback 2.5i and have already replaced the struts, added a hitch and modified the factory roof rack so it works better for carrying the canoe. Looking forward to see what other customizations I can do to this thing. Any good ideas? I thought maybe 3D printing a replacement center console and turning it into a glass cockpit with a 9" touch screen to replace the radio and other stuff... After all, who wouldn't want to see their fuel rail pressures and timing advance along side a streaming movie while texting and drivin.... *crunch*

:)

Reactions: seancpdx

·
Super Moderator
2008 OB Limited 2.5i, Portland OR USA
8,277 Posts
Welcome. Head gaskets fixed on this 2.5i, I hope? What about the timing belt status?

I thought maybe 3D printing a replacement center console......
You've caught my interest - there's a few things I would change on mine, mainly improving storage. You have access to a large enough 3D printer to do the main part in one piece?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Not sure about the head gasket but the timing belt was done less than 10K miles ago. The PO was an old guy who took the car to the dealer and did everything that they suggested it needed at every maintenance interval plus it was lightly driven. Head gaskets a problem on this beastie I assume? I will have to search the archives. Unlike my older EJ22 I know this is an interference engine. Any tell-tale signs of a failing gasket other than the usual signs of coolant in the motor oil? Noises? CEL's or anything like that? I will double check the records.