Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all I am new to Subaru so i will try not to sound too ignorant. I've had my XT for about a month now and am doing some research on what is and is not safe for the stock block and heads. Right now it's running a VF52, downpipe, short shifter and tune making 242whp. From what I've found so far (looking for confirmation) I should be able to squeeze 350-400 whp safely. If that's acurate then what is the best (not cheapest) way to get it? Any recommendations for what I should go after next is appreciated.

·
On the Super Mod Squad
2002 3.0 VDC Wag + 2018 2.5 Leg Ltd
27,163 Posts
Hello all I am new to Subaru so i will try not to sound too ignorant. I've had my XT for about a month now and am doing some research on what is and is not safe for the stock block and heads. Right now it's running a VF52, downpipe, short shifter and tune making 242whp. From what I've found so far (looking for confirmation) I should be able to squeeze 350-400 whp safely. If that's acurate then what is the best (not cheapest) way to get it? Any recommendations for what I should go after next is appreciated.
what year is that car?

moved thread and updated title. 2005-2009 section is the location for all XT questions, and "XT" in the title draws in the people with them.

rule #1: keep the full synthetic oil younger then 3750 miles. and pull the dipstick often.
(keep a OEM oil filter in the back of the car for emergencies) .

·
Master Caster
🖤💔💙 3 Beautiful OBXTs
16,302 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you for the welcome... Feels real good to be here. I guess the next best step is to go for injectors and new fuel pump. Any body know about how much boost is safe to run? Currently at 17lbs. And again sorry for sounding ignorant but the car came with a Cobb 3 AP. Other than to have it retuned I'm not 100% sure of it's applications and uses??

·
Master Caster