Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2013 Impreza Sport, 2003 Toyota Highlander 3.0 FWD, 2009 Outback XT Limited 5MT - R.I.P.
377 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Well it's about that time of year, where I post another sob story of how my money pit of an amazing car strikes again.

Clutch went out (~150,000 miles) with NO warning whatsoever (I've been letting a friend drive it for the past two months, completely coincidence right??). It threw a whatchamacallit up the transmission and voila! no more run.

My mechanic can't find a used tranny, and so he's quoting me an arm and a leg for a new one from Subaru.

I just can't take it anymore.

You guys didn't lie when you said these things will take all your hard earned dough.

Any recommendations? I don't think I'll be able to sell the thing, even if I were to fix it --- here come buy my awesome Subaru; it's on it's third engine and second clutch and second transmission, what else could go wrong?! Or maybe I could say, HEY THE ENGINE ONLY HAS 12,000 MILES ON IT!!! AND it has a BRAND NEW CLUTCH. And TRANSMISSION. GET IT WHILE IT'S HOT!!!!

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

·
Premium Member
2006 Outback Sedan LLBean
625 Posts
Do you have an alternative to fixing it? You're right, no one's buying a 200k mi car. No matter how new the engine is. Is it your daily driver? Is it the entire trans or just the clutch? Clutch job I'd do. Maybe one of those online trans places that you get a rebuilt trans and ship them yours back? I remember that being a thing with engines at one time.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

·
On the Super Mod Squad
2002 3.0 VDC Wag + 2018 2.5 Leg Ltd
26,307 Posts
in the classifed here is a gold 2008-09 XT around westchester county, ny for $6200. low miles.

part out what you got.

____

try sourcing a trans from subaru shops/ junk yards.

PMP in Pennsivyania.