Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I will buy an Outback 2001 limited on Tuesday, but I could test drive it yesterday.
Everything was fine aside from a weird noise coming from the back:

• Pitch increases linearly only when driving/accelerating (no change when gears shift)
  • Can cover the sound of the engine but not super loud either
  • Decreases with speed
  • Under a certain speed not noticeable
  • Not present when the engine is on but car is not moving.

I am in Fairbanks (AK) so the conditions are really cold. I'll buy it for 3500 dollars, new tires and everything but this sound is the only weird thing, aside from that is breaks nicely and AWD is engaged properly.

It's the first car I'll buy and I'm a student (not rich), and since it's 20 years old I was wondering if this kind of noise is normal, or if I'm rightly concerned about it ?

I plan to take it to a garage after I buy it just to assess where it is in terms of everything.

Thanks a lot !

·
Registered
409 Posts
I'd suggest taking it for an inspection prior to purchasing...especially since you're a student with limited funds. Could be more... then again, maybe not.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
2008 OB Limited 2.5i, Portland OR USA
8,043 Posts
I'm not accustomed to cost of living in Alaska, but in the lower 48 a $3500 price for what you have described would be exhorbitant.

It could be a number of things, and the best way to sort it out would be a pre-purchase inspection as suggested by @NoVASAC . My guess would be driveshaft, rear differential, rear CV, or rear wheel bearing.

Don't treat whatever is found as the end of that purchase - rather, as think of it as the beginning of negotions. Anything this old is going to have issues, and the seller is well aware of this.

Good luck, and welcome to the forums!

·