Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been changing my own oil for over 50 years now on all kinds of cars including other Subies and always within 10 to 20 seconds at most the oil pressure builds up to normal after the drain and refill. However with my 2010 Outback 4 cylinder with CVT trans it takes MINUTES for the low/no oil pressure light to go out. I can hear the tappets quiet down quickly after starting so I'm pretty sure I've actually got pressure. I gently rev to 2000 RPM or so - dosen't change anything. Only when I drive a 1/2 block or so will the light go out. I'm thinking maybe the pressure sensor is controlled by the ECU and is slow to reset and driving a bit completes the reset ?

Anyone else having same experience - any ideas why so slow to reset light ?

Thanks for any input, Cheap Trick

·
Registered
22,802 Posts
Been changing oil in all our cars for many years now. I've never seen the oil pressure light come on beyond the dash light check when you turn the key to the on position.

What type of oil filter are you using? And how much oil are you putting in the car? What type of oil?

Both my 2010 models I run 10-30 usually Mobil 1 synthetic in the summers and Chevron regular blend in the winter. We have mild winters and super hot summers.

Same deal for the Toyota trucks I've had. The only picky car I own is the 1.8T which you need to be careful with the oil and keep an eye on its consumption. But never seen the light come on after an oil change.

·
Registered
18,721 Posts
Are you sure it's the "oil pressure light" and not the "oil level light"?

See the Owners Manual, around page 3-14 and 3-15 for an explanation of the lights. See especially around page 3-15 for this note:

"The engine low oil level warning
light will not turn off immediately even
if you replace or add engine oil. It will