Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I drive a Honda Accord 2007 LX model. I completely happy with my car and looking to get a Outback 2013. I'm not the bells and whistles guy, to me the main characteristics motor/tranny is important than anything else. WHich model should I go for considering future re-sale value and overall best value for the money.

·
Registered
51 Posts
I'm new to all of this, so take this with a grain of salt, but I have read a couple of times today that automatic transmissions are better for resale simply because fewer and fewer people are even capable of driving a stick now days - and theoretically that number will only decrease over the coming years - when you might want to resell it. That said, if value per dollar right now is heavier on the scales, it's hard to beat that 6-speed for cost effectiveness. I am guessing it would also be a "little" more fun if you are a manual person, though it is still not going to be a hot rod or as nimble as many of the little cars out there.

No bells and whistles? I'd say that base model 2.5i in either manual (if you really like manual) or auto (if resale is more of a concern). You might consider a new 2012. There are some GREAT deals on those right now and you might be able to get a 2.5i Premium for a price you find reasonable. That model may have even more resell value down the line.

Good luck!

·
Registered
'11 Outback 2.5i CVT - '06 Forester X 5MT
1,765 Posts
IMO the money you save on a MT will just about even out come resale value. So you really don't "lose" on the resale of an MT because you didn't pay for it upfront.

IMO, a MT comands a premium on many cars simply for the fact that not many people order them that way new, so there are less in the market. But resale costs probably don't reflect that.