Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Our 4th of July contest is live! Enter HERE for your chance to win a $400 Walmart gift card.
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Outback of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

New member here. I'm looking to buy a car in the coming year. Previous car history: '00 Ford Explorer which I loved for its ability to go anywhere and overall SUV feel. .hated how every time I went up a hill on the highway I'd have to move over because I couldn't maintain speed. .part of the reason I moved to the Mazdaspeed 3 when I graduated college.

Fell out of love with that car after 3 years and sold it. Got that 'sport car' bug out of my system. Was fun to drive but couldn't get over its handling on any little bump on the road, would throw you all over the place. Also started working from home and needed to save money for other things.

Anyway, after we buy a house in a few months I'll be looking to get a new vehicle and would like some opinions from owners.

1) 4 or 6 cylinders? I kind of want to try this CVT out but not if I'm going to have the same issue I had with the Explorer. I don't need to be the fastest car on the road and usually drive near speed limit.

2) I'd be using it for light duty stuff around town, would like to keep more than 5 years as we start a family, road trips, occasional trip off the beaten path. .I make trips to Pittsburgh and am in No. VA so the AWD is appealing to me. Also like the cargo room and would most likely install a hitch in case I want/need to tow my motorcycle somewhere.

3) If I go the OB route, after reading on here it seems there's issues needing correction via a rear sway bar? And the HK audio system and navigation which I was kind of excited about don't look to review well. Would love keyless entry but maybe not all the other stuff with the SAP trim. Any idea of this coming to the '14 models?