Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
'07 OBXT Ltd. 5EAT, Charcoal Gray; '70 Chevy K10 4X4, 396c.i., lifted; '63 Pontiac Tempest, 326c.i.
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I changed the timing belt on my 2007 Outback 2.5XT 5EAT this past weekend.This thread post serves as a "heads up," BEFORE you get into the job, in order to give you some knowlege on what to expect. I'll post about a few tips I wish I knew before I tore in like a tasmanian devil...

DISCLAIMER: I am not a mechanic by any means. I am a financial advisor who enjoys crank-a-lanking on his vehicles from time to time. This is the first Subaru timing belt I've ever done. My mechanical abilities are lacking -
described as tenuous at best. I will stay away from talking procedurally on how to do your own timing belt. This is a tips-only thread (the kind of tips you'd get from your grand-pappy, although I'm set up on PayPal for the other kind of tips.) Therefore, I am not liable, in any way, shape, or form, for how you use this information. Again, this serves as a heads up, not as a procedural how-to, so I'm only bringing up pinpointed issues.

To my understanding the following tips MAY or MAY NOT be applicable to any 2.5 Liter DOHC Subaru engine - proceed at your own caution. But especially if you have the turbo+automatic application on the WRX, Forrester, Baja, Outback XT, or Sti, and you're doing the timing belt yourself, read on.

First of all, do this job with a friend. It can all be done by yourself, especially if you've done this exact timing belt replacement before. But without some extra hands, and without someone to bounce some ideas off of, you might find yourself in a pickle.