Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2018 Outback 2.5 Touring with ES, 2010 Forester 2.5
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone in Canada had experience with their new car warranty claim being denied by Subaru Canada, due to the owner doing oil and fluid changes, etc ?

There seems to be lots of positive info here from US owners, as it seems the Magnussen Act is what allows this. I have no idea if there is such a law in Canada allowing owner service, and I suspect Subaru would do all they could to prevent this from happening.

I've been maintaining my own vehicles for over 50 yrs now, and quite enjoy the process. I've just sold a 2010 Forester that I did all the regular scheduled maintenance on for 8 yrs, and have now bought a new 2018 Outback that I hope to do all the required service as well. I would be sure to follow the Subaru maintenance guidelines, and keep careful record of all work done.

Just wondering what experiences Canadian owners have in this regard.

Thanks

·
Registered
2019 Outback 2.5 Limited w ES. Tungsten.
122 Posts
I am in same situation. New Canadian 2019 Outback.

What I find confusing, is that we were given two different documents describing required services. The one in the warranty booklet, and a second one provided by dealer that has less stringent maintenance schedule. Copies below.

The other unclear requirement, is the 10,000km or 6months frequency. We will mainly use our Outback during winter to head South. It will do, say 7000km in first 6 months. In second 6 months say another 3000. 10,000km would come up just before we head South for second time.

Not sure yet just what to do, but thinking I would have dealer do every other service at 12month intervals starting after first 6 months. Then do an oil/filter change myself 6 months after every dealer service. Question is whether or not this meets warranty requirements.

Attachments

·
Registered
2012 OB , 2017 Impreza
3,205 Posts