Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2013 Outback Premium 2.5
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I swear I'm not a complete idiot. It's not my first time doing an oil change but it is my first time with a Subaru. I'm pretty sure I drained the CVT fluid and not the engine oil by mistake. I didn't realize this till after I added 5qts to the engine and then turned the car on. An array of dash lights went crazy. I've only moved the car 10 yards in reverse to get it out of the garage, just once lightly using the gas pedal. I also replaced the oil filter, if that matters. I then check the oil dipstick and it was way past full. How bad did I mess things up and what should I do from here? Please help!

·
On the Super Mod Squad
2002 3.0 VDC Wag + 2018 2.5 Leg Ltd
26,481 Posts
this has happened before.

1) have it flattbedded to a dealer.

or 2)

if you are more adventurous buy new subaru CVT fluid and open the fill hole and add back in 5 quarts.

if you used a clean basin you could possibly add back the drained CVT fluid into the car.

and drain off 5 quarts of engine oil.

_____

times like this hand siphons are handy.

·
On the Super Mod Squad
26,481 Posts

·
Master Caster
2005 XT, Mildly Modified...2006 XT Limited, Highly Modifed
16,151 Posts
Yikes

At least you didn't try and drive it.

10qts of oil in the system is a a lot. You could have oil in the defroster vents. (Just kidding) The CVT fill procedure is ... procedural. Dunno, If it were my car I might tackle myself, but that's me.

Unless I were really confident, I'd probably call my local flatbed.

·
Registered
2013 Outback Premium 2.5
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It's a frozen Saturday night and I have a bad feeling I won't be able to get help till Monday. Thanks for the replies. I need a strong drink and a "I'm stupid" sticker

·
Master Caster
16,151 Posts