Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time rebuilding a motor so go easy on me. I'm trying to se my ring gap for the piston rings qnd from what I saw on all data, the rings should be within .20mm to .35mm but when I measured the gap of the ring in the cylinder it read .50 mm. Could I have been misinformed or is there a mistake with the manufacturer of the rings? I bought them to be standard sized. TIA
Font Gas Wood Technology Electric blue
Bicycle part Reflex camera Camera accessory Motor vehicle Digital camera

·
Premium Member
2020 Onyx
17,097 Posts
To clarify, your old used piston rings have a 0.5mm gap, so the gap may have grown from cylinder bore and piston ring wear. I'm not an engine builder so maybe someone else can tell you how to determine if your cylinder bore is too worn and you need to do something like honing before you put in the new piston rings.

·
Premium Member
2020 Onyx
17,097 Posts
Do you have a brand and part number for your ring set? It would have been convenient to have all of your piston ring issues in one thread.

·
Super Moderator
Outback 2011 3.6R Premium (sold Jan 22)
3,809 Posts
Is it me or is this new oil ring bigger than the oem because it won't seem to drop into the piston? (New and oem next to each other) View attachment 539906
This is way off topic BUT that is a great picture showing “gummed up” oil control rings.

This is something that causes high engine oil consumption which is often discussed on this forum. Oil control rings with this much contamination can never work as designed.

Thanks for the GREAT photo.

By the way, if the new oil control ring cannot be easily pushed into the piston ring groove then the oil control ring is not the correct part for your piston.

Seagrass

·
Registered
2006 Outback 2.5i manual
515 Posts
So should I only buy piston rings from the dealer? Or are there other options out there?