Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2018 2.5i Premium ES
197 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I have been planning for a big trip coming up in August, and while I have pretty extensive camping/backpacking experience I have limited overlanding experience and was hoping to seek advice from those who may have a bit more than myself or just recommendations for the parks we plan to visit. I have done some research here as well as on offroadsubarus.com. It's still a ways off so I have time to prep and acquire the things I may need.

The trip will be about 18 days on the road either car camping (both sleeping in my car and tent outside) or using the car as a base camp and doing some backpacking. I will be traveling with a couple friends and we will be taking two cars, mine and a TRD Pro Tacoma. We will be traveling from Tennessee to Badlands NP, Glacier NP, Grand Teton NP, Denver, and back to Tennessee.

My car will be entirely stock, including tires (barring a flat before then), however, I do plan on getting and bringing along a full size spare. I have an extended Loadwarrior basket I plan on using for gear, the extra wheel, and an awning. Inside I plan on using either a full size futon mattress in the back or my Nemo pad to sleep on. I am tall enough that I need to pop the headrests off the passenger side seats and fully recline the front seat to be able to lie fully stretched but I have tested it out and found it very flat and comfortable.