Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a "new" car which was used by the dealer. It is a Suburu Outback Legacy LLBean model. It has 5500 miles on it. I'm getting 13.5mpg city. I think this car is advertised to get 20mpg. Do you think I should bring the car in? I'm a good driver and I don' t idle the car. What could be the problem?

·
Superb Moderator, ,
MY12 WRX, MY07 FXT
6,186 Posts
What kind of driving do you do most, city, highway? Do you drive it short distances only, like to work? Cold climate right now? When you get more miles on it, your mileage should rise also, but @ 5k things should be set in their way by now. Brian

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'd consider my driving city. I drive a few miles at a time locally. I don't think I've done any highway driving yet. I just know that the car is supposed to get 20mpg city and I'm only getting 13.5. Doesn't that seem unusual?

·
Registered
2003 Subaru Outback 2005 Ford Ranger
350 Posts
13.5 mpg does sound pretty low. Are you in a cold region of the country? I know that when it gets really cold out, my mpg tend to drop off. I'm not sure cold weather would account for mileage that bad though. :8: My car is a 2000 base model 5 speed and I get around 21 - 22 during city travel and about 26 on the Hwy. Stick around, there are some pretty knowledgeable people on here and I'm sure someone can help.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I live near Philly and although we've had a very cold winter, the past week has been more moderate. I have an automatic transmission if that makes a difference. Mostly I drive 2-4 miles at a time. My car doesn't have anything heavy in it.

·
SubaruOutback.org Founder
2018 Outback Limited 2.5L - 105,000+ miles
5,122 Posts
First off let me say welcome to Outback.org! :D