Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2001 H6 OBW
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got my "new" 1996 Subaru Legacy Outback 2.5L Wagon rolling (with some CV joint popping) and am wondering what some causes may be for poor performance... I know this is an old engine but it seems like it should have more power. Here is what I'm talking about...

When idle, it sounds like it is running well. When I rev the engine (in park) it sounds good too. When I put it in drive and floor it, it takes off like I am a conservative driver passing by a playground. To test whether the AWD kicks in, I've tried shifting down to gear 1 to get the wheels spinning on a dirt road... just not enough power to get those tires to break loose.

This car has been sitting in northern Minnesota, uncovered for at least a year (probably longer). I still have not put new gas in since I just got it running yesterday and its not registered or insured yet. I was on "private dirt roads" by the way. :rolleyes: There isn't much in the tank and I know its probably smelling more like varnish than gasoline. Could the poor condition of the gas be the cause of such bad performance or is there something you would suggest checking on since the car had been sitting for so long?

Did I give enough details? What is your idea?

·
Registered
2007 outback 2.5i
271 Posts
try a full tank of fresh gas and a bottle or two of seafoam.

·
Registered
2001 H6 OBW
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
One note (and I am a computer geek): always make sure you have everything plugged in. :bonk:

I stopped by my friends place to drop of a tool he borrowed me and we used his scan tool to see what codes were

triggering my check engine light. My throttle sensor was malfunctioning. He told me how easy it was to replace and when