Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

New to the forum and I've been paging through researching for an upcoming 2013 2.5 Limited purchase.

We're planning on ordering it and I was wondering what accessories are worth getting via the dealer versus getting the parts via subaru or a 3rd party and installing them myself.

I.e. hitch, rear bumper cover, bug guard, splash guards, etc.

Any options that you can't live without?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
'15, Outback Premium 2.5, White
26 Posts
I have installed myself the hitch (Subaru way), STI rear sway bar, and puddle lights. All were relatively simple yet cost a considerable amount in labor if done by the dealer. My puddle lights were compounded by the fact that I have the wheel well covers too but was still quite simple. Probably could have done all of that within a 4 hour time window, maybe less.
I think the puddle lights look cool, my wife likes the fact that she can see anything before stepping in it!

·
Registered
2013 & 2014 Outback
268 Posts
I have done this twice and its worked well. Do some research on line. Look up what the accessories would cost online from other Subaru dealers. Ask yourself how difficult installing would be. After you come to an agreement on the basic price of the car tell the salesman what accessories you want and how much you would pay online. My salesman charged me the internet price and about $100.00 for installation of the mud flaps, tire arches and cargo nets. The list price for those options was near $1000.00/lot. Dealer supplied them and installed them for less the $500.00

·
Registered
2015 Subaru Outback 3.6 Limited - Twilight Blue
167 Posts