Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let me get it out there...I am a Subaru Newb... please help.

So I am working on a 96 legacy outback 5 speed for a friend with a new machined 2.5l motor (600 miles on it) and after 2 min of test driving it, the throttle starts pulsing and the car bucks under power like the first time I drove a stick. It does this without me switching gears, on flat ground, in any gear. One minute-smooth, next I am a ragdoll. Any thoughts? It does this every time once it gets warm and it occasionally shuts off at a stop.

I thought it may have been a bad/wrong sensor but apparently it worked fine till 40 miles ago....I did see more metal flake in the oil then I expected after break in.

·
Premium Member
2001 VDC/SC One of a Kind
14,436 Posts
Fuel, air or fire and the sensors, many of them, that control the mix.

MAF
TPS
Fuel filter
Fuel pump
Front O2 sensor
Bad ground; either at the battery, block or the many lugs off the harness at the strut towers, firewall, fender and intake manifold.
Coil or crank sensor
Plugged exhaust, i.e. CAT damaged or clogged.
Vacuum leaks

If I were to guess at which one to check first, FUEL DELIVERY. Check the fuel filter, then the pump.

Next, fire from the coil.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Fuel, air or fire and the sensors, many of them, that control the mix.

MAF
TPS
Fuel filter
Fuel pump
Front O2 sensor
Bad ground; either at the battery, block or the many lugs off the harness at the strut towers, firewall, fender and intake manifold.
Coil or crank sensor
Plugged exhaust, i.e. CAT damaged or clogged.
Vacuum leaks

If I were to guess at which one to check first, FUEL DELIVERY. Check the fuel filter, then the pump.

Next, fire from the coil.