Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
(2) Outback 2.5i Limiteds (2013 CVT & 2005 MT)
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I'm totally new here, so if there's a thread on this, please send me there. I'm new to Subaru, but am very much interested in an Outback XT Limited, manual. I've driven one and definitely liked it. Not as quick off the line as I'd like, but plenty of power once you're up and going. Interior seems nicer to me than the new generation in many respects. Anyway...

My question is this... what do I need to look out for on these cars? The one I drove happens to have 80k+ miles on it, which is a bit higher than I'd prefer. What starts to "go" around then? Is there a timing belt? How long does the turbo last (on average)? Other things I need to know?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.
-J

·
Registered
2006 Outback 2.5i Limited 5MT, 1984 Porsche 944
276 Posts
I don't have an XT, but I went through a debate of buying an XT in North Carolina, or a 2.5i in New York, both Limited models. I chose the one in New York, mainly because I already have a sports car, a friend of mine has an XT that ate a rod bearing at 120,000 miles, and the mileage is better with the 2.5i. If you search these forums, you'll see that some of the XT's have spun rod bearings very early in their life. Bottom line: You pay for speed. How much are you willing to spend?

To answer your other question, yes, all the 4cyl (gas) Outbacks have timing belts. I think they all share the same 105,000 mile change interval too.

Other things that may go at this age: CV boots. If you're luck you'll catch the tear while driving on the highway. If you're like me, you won't discover the tear until you're washing mud off the car, despite having checked the drive line the weekend before during the oil change. If that happens then you need to change the whole axle.

·