Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Outback LL Bean
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been shopping for a 2022 Limited, probably XT. Didn't quite pull the trigger fast enough, and my 187K 2005 LL Bean has decided to have the trans speed sensor fail. So, it's at the dealer, because my regular shop didn't want to take it on. The dealer gave me a 2022 Limited loaner. The differences stand out in contrast. In no particular order:
-It's taller. I'm gonna miss the almost-sedan ride height of the 2005. But, I don't want a Legacy sedan. Oh well.
-Nice to have the seat pan tilt adjust on the passenger power seat.
-The rubber molding (optional, I think) at the bottom of the doors looks clunky. Is it as easy to remove as it looks?
-The drive-by-wire gives pretty good tip-in response, almost enough to not miss my 3.0 H6. But...
-Not enough go power for on-ramps and such, for my taste. I think an XT is in my future.
-Even so, the H4 just sounds and feels coarse compared to the H6.
-Most of the infotain stuff works pretty well. Better than a lot of Toyota, Hyundai, Jeep, etc rentals I've had.
-The electric power steering doesn't call attention to itself with a dead center and lack of feel, like many.
-The power lift gate will take, like, 60 seconds to get spoiled by. Nice.
-Good grief, that auto start-stop is chunky/clunky. Some cars, you hardly notice it.

·
Premium Member
2020 Onyx
12,644 Posts
That rubber molding on the door isn't optional and there's both cladding on the door and below the door - don't think it will remove cleanly without filling holes or something.

·
Registered
2005 Outback LL Bean
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well, shite. I thought I saw it on the option list when I was doing the build thing at the web site. I'm fine with the cladding below, just not fond of the bits on the door.

·
Premium Member
2020 Onyx