Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the idea of replacing the HU in my car, so go easy, please. :)

I have a '11 Outback 2.5i with the factory HK premium HU, and I am mostly please with it. However it doesn't support AD2P which is something I desparately want to use.

The unit I am considering as a replacement is the Pioneer AVH-3400BH, and I would like to re-use the built-in mic for bluetooth. I poked around for a little while on the forums and didn't see anything that said this can or can't be done.

So, has anyone replaced a HU and re-used their existing mic?

·
Registered
18 Posts
I'm new to the idea of replacing the HU in my car, so go easy, please. :)

I have a '11 Outback 2.5i with the factory HK premium HU, and I am mostly please with it. However it doesn't support AD2P which is something I desparately want to use.

The unit I am considering as a replacement is the Pioneer AVH-3400BH, and I would like to re-use the built-in mic for bluetooth. I poked around for a little while on the forums and didn't see anything that said this can or can't be done.

So, has anyone replaced a HU and re-used their existing mic?
Any luck with this? I'm about to pop in a Pioneer AVH-P8400BH into a '10 with also with the factory HK and want to reuse the BT mic and the media hub inputs in the armrest. I'll keep looking around.

·
Registered
832 Posts
Without changing the wiring around it's not going to just plug in. Most all of the aftermarket mics plug in via an 1/8" jack, and the OEM is wired through the plug. I removed the OEM one and fabbed up a bracket to hold the aftermarket in the OEM spot.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Without changing the wiring around it's not going to just plug in. Most all of the aftermarket mics plug in via an 1/8" jack, and the OEM is wired through the plug. I removed the OEM one and fabbed up a bracket to hold the aftermarket in the OEM spot.