Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2013 2.5i Premium CVT
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The service manual states that it's ok to use the rear diff. as a center jacking point. I would assume they wouldn't say it unless it's fine. But, I'm a little hesitant. In reality, I'm new to Subaru, and I'm completely ignorant of the strength of the rear diff. Does anyone think there's any problem using the rear diff. as a jacking point?

·
Registered
2004 Outback Wagon EJ259 - 4EAT
121 Posts
Go for it. If it was even remotely a bad idea -- the service manual wouldn't recommend it. Think of all the things that aren't recommended but are done anyway, with no ill consequence.

Don't worry about it.

·
Registered
2015 2.5i Limited Carbide Gray
832 Posts
It what I use. Makes it easy to rotate the tires with them both off the ground with one stroke of the jack.

·
Registered
1,142 Posts
Wow, good info. This will make tire rotation much easier now!!!!

·
Registered
2018 Outback Touring 3.6
40 Posts
If I jack up the back using a center point, won't both back wheels be off the ground? Since the tire rotation is back to front, how will this make the tire rotation easier? I'd like a jack point that puts the both wheels on one side off the ground at the same time.

·
Registered
2011 OB 2.5i Prem CVT HK/AWP, Ruby Red Pearl
3,322 Posts
Depends on your method/tools.<O:p</O:p
Slip a jackstand under the L or R, then move the jack to Fr lift point.<O:p</O:p
The Contis can also be rotated L/R, they’re symmetrical (although I don’t bother L/R). I have 2 floorjacks, so I just lift L/R.<O:p</O:p
And please use only a floorjack to lift the diff.<O:p</O:p

·
Registered
832 Posts
I would have the front off the ground already to change the oil so I would only need to jack up the back in one spot to get all four done.

·
Registered
1,142 Posts
I thought it was back to front, then swap left/right on one end (front or rear).

·
Registered