Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
'04 Outback, 2.5 H4, 4SPD Auto, Cold Wx PAckage, 01 Dakota QC 4WD, 14 Equinox LT
165 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Pretty sure it's a rear main. Cleaned the engine twice, including frame cross rail. Engine is only "wet" right by the flexplate access area and the pan in that area. Losing less than a quart every 3k miles, but I'm a fastidious engineer owner in a coastal environment. I have a general "no leaks" rule since almost every storm system here dumps directly to the river or estuarine system. Yep, I know everyone else doesn't do it, but I am not inclined to pile on.
129k miles. PO put 5k miles on it in 3 years of ownership, so yes, it sat most of the year. Already a member of the HG replacement club.

Which is easier:
  • Drop the tranny?
  • pull the engine

·
Registered
03 H6 OBW & 06 WRX Sportwagon
17,617 Posts
if you're sure it isn't VC gaskets or from a 'pool' on top of the engine, etc., there is an air/oil cover plate and a wrist pin access hole on the rear of the block that 'could' also leak. More common on older models with plastic cover plates.

gummy PCV valve 'might' lead to increased oil leakage

·
Registered
'04 Outback, 2.5 H4, 4SPD Auto, Cold Wx PAckage, 01 Dakota QC 4WD, 14 Equinox LT
165 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Fair to say I might be able to get a borescope in the flexplate access hatch and figure out which one, rear main or air/oil plate? Know it's coming out the back, valve covers and heads spotless.
Will replace PCV and hose. Heck of a lot cheaper than pulling either the engine or tranny.

·
Registered
OBW H6 VDC, Tribeca, XT6
12,391 Posts
replace PCV with Subaru OEM only.