Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, looking for any advice or recommendations.
I recently bought a 2022 Outback Premium with a trailer hitch mount included on the accessory order.

I want to order a cargo carrier hitch mount, though I have no experience with one so I want to avoid any pitalls.

I need to get on it since in 1 month I will utilize it on a 10 hour road trip across the Appalachians, but then also in the future I likely will utilize it for football tailgates. So typically I imagine placing large cooler on this, with maybe a small grill or smoker. Of course I would need to ratchet strap them down.

Here is one example I found online Best Subaru Outback Wagon Hitch Cargo Carrier | etrailer.com
24" x 60" rated for rated for 500 lbs for $217 made by Reese.

As I scrolled down another made by Curt is similar, only 1" smaller at 24x59, still rated for 500 lbs, but is a bit cheaper $188.

And here's another by Curt, that is a smaller at 19x47 and rated for 300 lbs. It fits both 2" and 1.25" hitches, so more versatile and is $144.
https://www.etrailer.com/Hitch-Cargo-Carrier/CURT/C18110.html

All 3 claim to be in stock and have free shipping.

There is also a taillight kit for if stacking stuff creates a hazard by blocking your lights, here's one example for $43 Light Kit for Draw-Tite, Tow Ready, and Rola Railed Cargo Carriers etrailer Accessories and Parts 20174
Of course if I order the light kit, I'd want to make sure it says it's compattible with the cargo carrier.

Some sporadic questions coming to mind:
Is bigger/sturdier typically preferred over saving $70?

How carefully or light do you have to pack to not block your brake lights?

If you're packing a big cooler, do you usually have to unload to be able to open the Outback hatch?

Any ratchet strap recommendations, either to purchase or how to place on?

How much do you find that it changes the driving experience?